Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
7

Maiden, mother, crone

#DailySignals - Your 2 minute preview of the future
7

More than half of "young adult" books, designed to be read by school going teens are now bought and read by over 18s.

This made me wonder about our overall maturity (de)volution and why my generation of (particularly women) seems to be stuck in the role of "maiden" unable to embrace the full character arc of maiden-mother-crone, from innocence, to nurturing to wisdom.

Anyway, maybe I'm overthinking - but as a life long reader, I must say it shocked me that people my age are returning to "childish things", stuck in Peter Pan like limbo and burdened with the weight of nostalgia. (And also, to be honest, pre teen 9-11 aged books are far better than young adult angst from a pure literary perspective! I've been revising the classics in that regard with my 8 year old daughter for context there. If anyone wants recommendations, hit me up!)

It's also a pretty strong signal that generation cohort studies DO matter - whatever the self-righteous "trend thought leaders" are trying to tell us otherwise these days. What matters iOS what changes between how cohorts relate to the world *at the same age* and how that trend line shifts. EG how millennials are more nostalgic and more left leaning than previous cohorts were at the same ages. That matters. Follow the macro trends that are shaping the world.

What do you think about generational cohorts - is there something there?

How do you feel about incomplete “character arcs” and the drive to remain forever young?

What are we afraid of?

Share Thoughts

Read more:

Discussion about this video

Thoughts
Thoughts
Authors
Bronwyn Williams