Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Phone a friend (or your mom)

#DailySignals - Your 2 minute preview of the future

Today I’m looking at the rising trend of young employees in Japan (and elsewhere) hiring companies to write and tender their resignations for them!

Now, I am hardly one to talk about this phenomenon of “ghosting” moving from dating lives into the office (I who, to my eternal shame, couldn’t pluck up the courage to tell my then boss that I was pregnant until I was 6 months along); but I do know extreme conflict avoidance is not a virtue or a strength - indeed the ability to speak up for yourself in front of others is critical to success in life and in business.

It is however indication of the greater societal shift from more “masculine” to “feminine” leadership styles and a strong signal that managers need to focus on feelings and sensitivity and to be concisely aware of cultivating a safe “speak up” culture to encourage honesty on tough issues before it’s too late.

What do you think of “corporate ghosting” and general conflict avoidance?

How can we encourage both honesty and psychological safety in the workplace?

What could you be missing if you employees don’t feel safe to speak to you as adults?

Can 3rd parties and “emotional brokers” (as in my example) help?

Leave a comment

Read more:

Discussion about this video

Thoughts
Thoughts
Authors
Bronwyn Williams