Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
3

Books, books, books!

#DailySignals your 2 minute preview of the future
3

The debate continues. Well, Richard Mulholland and I have long argued about this point and today's #dialysignal indicates that I might not be on the wrong side of history (or, at the very least, that I'm still one of the cool kids) after all. 

We're looking at the data that shows GenZ is tending towards a preference for physical books rather than e-versions (as I do myself), stating status (yes, I admit that), eye strain and concentration/ retention for choosing the analogue over the digital.

Got me thinking about nostalgia, mimesis, and how whatever is digitised (even in the Age of ChatGPT) is, by definition, a flattened simplified version of reality with a lot of the nuance overlooked.

Anyway.
Over to you. 

Which do you prefer? Physical or digital books?
How about audio? Records or Spotify?
What small subtle (un definable and therefore un-programmable!) nuances are we losing out on with our digital alternatives to reality?


Let me know!

Leave a comment

Read More:

  • The debate continues :

Discussion about this video

Thoughts
Thoughts
Authors
Bronwyn Williams