Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
3

It's my party and I'll make you cry if I want to

#DailySignals your 2 minute preview of the future
3

Spicy! But hey, it's my birthday and I'll be spicy if I want to.

Today's #dailysignal looks at two seemingly unrelated pieces of content that both beg us to interrogate the idea of the price of care "work" or as you and I know it : love.

On the one hand, some women are demanding that their "homework" (child rearing and other forms of taking care of their families and homes that take effort) be quantified and compensated (that is PRICED)), other women are MAD that the price of care (aka outsourced child rearing) exceeds their own market value (wait! isn't ending wage inequality a good thing? Hmmm, but I digress). At the same time, yet other women are finding the price men are prepared to pay for sex is under minimum wage...

Ooops.

What if we find out our price and we don't like it!

It's almost like (hear me out) that explicitly pricing some things is not a good idea. And that markets for love and care create more problems than they solve. Perhaps its time we remember that there is a difference between your price and your value and that some things (like human connection and care) are invaluable and best left un priced.

Please, argue with me in the comments.

Do you think we should price care work?

Are Only Fans girls underpaid?

Are childcare workers overpaid?

So many questions!

Share Thoughts

Read More:

Discussion about this video

Thoughts
Thoughts
Authors
Bronwyn Williams